What Personality Trait Are You?

What Personality Trait Are You?

A depressed person

Photo by Małgorzata Tomczak

Hi. Thanks for your time. I am Theodore and I am a Web Developer. So I learnt a few amazing stuff on Personality Traits and Self-Awareness. And here I am, in a bid to tell you what I have learnt.

What is Personality Trait?

Personality Trait is your characteristic pattern of thoughts, feelings, and behaviours. In the other words, it is the way you think, feel and behave. Although one may have one or more personality traits, there is and will always be the dominant one. Knowing your personality trait will help you achieve success in any decision that matters to you especially in choosing your career.

Personality Trait and the Big Question “Who am I?”

Self-awareness is the stepping stone to our being effective or successful. Being Self-aware means you know who you are. It means you can confidently answer the question “Who am I?.

“Self Awareness is the ability to take an honest look at your life without any attachment to it being right or wrong, good or bad.” — Debbie Ford

Self-awareness is when you know what you are and also know what others think of you. It is not a judgemental way to look at oneself. Rather it is careful observation of oneself without saying this is bad of me, this is good of me. It is when you really know who you are(your likes, dislikes, your source of happiness, etc.) One of the key ways to be self-aware is knowing your personality trait.

What are the Personality Traits?

There are five of them. One may have two or more of the traits, but there is one dominant of all the traits.

  1. Openness: These are people who when you meet and in the next twenty to thirty minutes you already know a lot about them. “Hi I am John, I live down the street. I am from … I love … I can …”. They are fun and enjoyed by others and they enjoy meeting new people. They are always opened for a new experience.
  2. Diligent/Conscientiousness: If you have seen anyone who takes matters like academics seriously, then you must have met one with this personality trait. They are bent on seeing that they accomplish any task given to them. Following rules or set of guidelines is not their problem. They are organized, they are conspicuously known to be well dressed or neat. And lest I forget, they are hardworking.
  3. Extraversion: Of course you must have crossed paths a lot with people who can socialize in any kind of occasion. They are full of life. They want to be noticed. They want to start the conversation. To them, that is how life is meant to be lived.
  4. Agreeableness: I have a good friend who tries as much as possible to make me see him as a real brother. He understands everyone. He is friendly to anyone. He tries as much as possible to see people around him in harmony. Well, that is the trait of agreeableness. Dera is my good friend.
  5. Neuroticism: Neuroticism is characterized by being angered easily, full of anxiety and worries. Easily irritated. Always stressed out and the rest.

Awww, you may say. But don’t judge or condemn yourself when you know your personality trait. It is who you are and there are 1001 reasons to realize that no personality trait is bad. They each have their own unique opportunities.

Thanks for your time. And as for me, my dominant trait is Openness and average on Diligent.

Thanks for your time!